Art Tracks: 60 years of the Muswellbrook Art Prize

Exhibiting 11 March - 06 May 2018

Max Watters - the Contemporary Collector

Exhibiting 02 Jan - 06 May 2018

Ancient Stories, New Narratives - Sims Dickson Collection

Exhibiting 12 May - 01 July 2018

Tia Gabriellah: the Joy of Colour!

Exhibiting 12 May - 01 July 2018

The Losing Game - Max Watters Collection

Exhibiting 12 May - 26 August 2018

Paul Selwood

Exhibiting 07 July - 26 August 2018

Three Well Known Australians - Martin Shaw

Exhibiting 07 July - 26 August 2018

The Locals - 60 years of collecting in the Upper Hunter

Exhibiting 01 Sep to 21 Oct 2018


Exhibiting 01 Sep to 21 Oct 2018

Muswellbrook Local Art Awards 2018

Rebecca Rath "Spring Field, Oakvale Wines"

Exhibiting 28 October - 23 December 2018

45th Muswellbrook Art Prize

Vipoo Srivilasa, The Good, The Bad and The Cuddly (self portrait)
Vipoo Srivilasa, The Good, The Bad and The Cuddly (self portrait). Ceramics Prize 2016, white and black porcelain 26 x 19 x 10cm

Exhibition Opening & Award Presentation: Saturday 10 March 2018

Exhibition: 11 March – 6 May 2018

The Muswellbrook Art Prize began in 1958 as the Festival of the Valley Art Prize with an objective “to foster the interest in and understanding of art in the Upper Hunter Valley area and to play a part, however modest, in the promotion of art and the encouragement of artists generally, throughout Australia”.

The Muswellbrook Art Prize has gone through numerous changes over its history, the most significant being the addition of a Works on Paper Prize in 1965 and a Ceramics Prize firstly from 1971 to 1976 and then permanently from 1987.

Finalists of the Muswellbrook Art Prize now vie for a total of $71,000 prize money across four prize categories:

  • Painting $50,000 acquisitive
  • Works on Paper $10,000 acquisitive
  • Ceramics $10,000 acquisitive
  • People’s Choice $1,000 non-acquisitive

Astute adjudication of the Muswellbrook Art Prize over the years has yielded an excellent collection of modern and contemporary Australian paintings, works on paper and ceramics from the Post War period of the 20th Century and into the 21st Century, with the winning acquisitive works forming the nucleus of what is now known as the Muswellbrook Shire Art Collection. Previous winners of the Muswellbrook Art Prize include such key figures as David Aspden, Sydney Ball, Richard Larter and Fred Williams.The Upper Hunter Region is also well represented with a number of local artists being successful in winning the Prize including Peter Atkins, Dale Frank, Lyn Nash and Hanna Kay.

Throughout the history of the Muswellbrook Art Prize there has been ongoing financial commitment by local businesses and industry, ensuring the development of the Muswellbrook Shire Art Collection. Along with Muswellbrook Shire Council, who since 1958 has acted as sponsor and administrator of the Prize, Bengalla Mining Company Pty Limited has generously sponsored the Prize for the past 20 plus years.

45th Muswellbrook Art Prize – Adjudicator and Finalists Announced

Muswellbrook Regional Arts Centre is pleased to announce the finalists of the 45th Muswellbrook Art Prize along with this year’s adjudicator - Tracy Cooper-Lavery, Gallery Director, Gold Coast City Gallery. Finalists of the 45th Muswellbrook Art Prize will compete for a total prize pool of $71,000, with 26 works selected for the $50,000 Painting Prize, 19 works for the $10,000 Works on Paper Prize and 12 works for the $10,000 Ceramics Prize. Winners of the Art Prize will be announced at the opening night at 6pm Saturday 10th March 2018 by adjudicator Tracy Cooper-Lavery. A $1,000 People’s Choice Prize can also be voted for during the course of the exhibition. Congratulations to all 57 finalists!

Painting Finalists
Morgan Allender - By the Pond (for Claude)
Nicholas Aplin - Pink Chairs by the Irrawaddy
Alec Baker - Ngura (Country)
Min-Woo Bang - Colossal
Geoffrey Breen - River Mangroves
Daniel Butterworth - Self Sorry
Rodney Cones-Browne - Landscape Meditation 107
Madeleine Cruise - The Heart of the Matter
Dagmar Cyrulla - Into The Light
Shane Dennis - Mountain Bathers, Rouchel
Philip Drummond - As the evening meets the sky
Nicolette Eisdell - The Board Room
Jon Ellis - Turbulence
Rocco Fazzari - Botanical Gardens Sydney CBD
Becky Gibson - Timber
Linda Greedy - Gap Creek Track, Watagan National Park
Tannya Harricks - Rizzo & Frenchy
Carissa Karamarko - Just On The Table There, Thanks.
Onela Keal - Rusty Tank
Ben Kenning - Gestural and semi-abstract composition #4
Yurpiya Lionel - Anumara
Paul Maher - Anzac Walk 4
Michael Muir - Hidden in the Summer
Vanessa Newell - The Melodrama of Dressing
Mark Thompson - References: Olga, Brolgah, Gavan and Dot the Kangaroo
Sokquon Tran - Holly's Clouds

Works on Paper Finalists
Margaret Ambridge - What remains
Muamer Cajic - How Far Are You
Kristone Capistrano - Self-Portrait
Liz Faul - Red Planet
Rocco Fazzari - Late Afternoon Dip-Bondi
Garry Foye - Capertee Construction #11
Jackie Gorring - Toaster of Vindication
Jody Graham - Old Farmhouse
Amber-rose Hulme - Masked Integrity
Paula Jenkins - Nostalgia, Seal Rocks
Lisa Kirkpatrick - Sleepyhead
Waratah Lahy - Night Clouds
Marie Lunney - Rocky Hill - Stewartsbrook
Kiata Mason - The Studio Chair
Felicity O'Connor - Ochre Place
Lisa Sewards - Parajellys, Artist Book, 2018
Maggie Stein - Going Places, Central Station, Sydney
Christopher Zoneff - Contumacity (Wisteria Bloom)
Vera Zulumovski - Double Breasted

Ceramic Finalists
Paul Adams - Tall Jun Vase
Annette Bukovinsky - Nestle
Roslyn Elkin - Camouflage
Carol Forster - Bowl of Shells
Klaus Gutowski - The Weight of Time
Marianne Huhn - Seeking Asylum
Wendy Jagger - Snowy Mountains
Amy Kennedy - Adrift
Helen Martin - Melt
Mee-Sun Kim Park - Being: Form is Emptiness
Megan Puls - NightShade
Natalie Rosin - Vitreous High Density

Muswellbrook Shire Council